Coming Soon: Miriam DeCosta-Willis

On Saturday, February 26th, join us at 2:00 pm in the Memphis Room to celebrate the release of Miriam DeCosta-Willis’ new book, Black Memphis Landmarks.  At the same time, the Miriam DeCosta-Willis Collection will be made available to the public for the first time.

Mrs. DeCosta-Willis has had a remarkable career as a scholar, a writer and as a civil rights leader, and the collection will include materials from all aspects of her life and career.

Until then, let us tease you with some of the photos from her collection.  Approximately 30 photos from the Miriam DeCosta-Willis Collection have been added to the Civil Rights Photograph Collection.  Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Authors, Black History, Books, Buildings, Civil Rights, Collections, Events

4 responses to “Coming Soon: Miriam DeCosta-Willis

  1. To whom it may concern, I would like to attend the Mirriam DeCosta Willis event. I know its at 2pm. However the only information I have is the Memphis Shelby County Room. I need an address or pertinent information to attend

  2. Hi Keith, We’re glad you will be joining us!
    Memphis & Shelby County Room
    History Department, 4th Floor
    Benjamin L. Hooks Central Library
    3030 Poplar Avenue
    Memphis, Tennessee 38111
    901.415.2742

  3. Clara Ann Twigg Mims

    Hello,
    I am originally from Memphis (born and raised). I remember Mrs. DeCosta Willis as a strikingly beautiful lady. I was a teenager at the time. I don’t know if she will see this message, but I would like for her to know that I will be ordering her latest book and I know that I will enjoy reading it and remembering the many folk that live/lived in Memphis. If possible, please convey my regards to her with my fondest memories and best wishes.

    Clara Ann Twigg Mims

Leave a comment